To add, update, retrieve, and delete Secrets, use the Secret Manager
A Secret is a string that contains sensitive data and needs to be stored securely. Usually, this string contains sensitive credentials, such as login information or certificate keys, for accessing data on a cloud or a service.
Tensorleap provides a Secret Manager to manage these secrets. Each secret is stored securely, and only a machine running a task can access it.
A common use of a Secret is to store credentials that allow a Dataset Instance to access the storage and fetch the data. A Secret can later be retrieved by a dataset script (see Retrieve a Secret).
To add a Secret:
- 2.On the Resources Management window, under the Secrets section, click New Secret.
- 3.On the Secret Manager, enter a name for the secret, then select a provider from the list. The name of the secret should always be in lower case.
- 4.Either drag and upload your secret key, or copy and paste it to the Secret Manager.
Adding a Secret
5. Click Save. The record is then added to the list under the Secrets section.
Upon clicking Save, the Secret gets added to the list on the upper left
Since Secrets are stored securely in our servers, only a machine running a dataset script can access a Secret normally. If you need to update a Secret, you can do so via the Tensorleap UI, but you cannot view the content of the Secret you previously entered.
To update a Secret:
- 2.On the Resources Management window, under the Secrets section, look for the Secret to be retrieved from the list.
- 3.When you find the Secret, position your cursor over the record, then clickand Update Secret to display the Secret's details on the right.
- 4.Either drag and upload the updated secret key, or copy and paste it to the Secret Manager, then click Save.
Updating a Secret
To close the record without saving your changes, click Discard.
Secrets can be retrieved by the Dataset Script, allowing it to use the sensitive data stored within a secret. The secret string is passed to the script as the environment variable
If you do not need a Secret anymore, you may delete it to make your list of Secrets more manageable.
Only Secrets that are not in use by any of the dataset instances can be deleted.
To delete a Secret:
- 2.On the Resources Management window, under the Secrets section, look for the Secret to be deleted from the list.
- 3.When you find the Secret, position your cursor over the record, then clickand Delete Secret.
Deleting a Secret